Already registered? Access your course

WSMA’s CDL-Medical Examiner Course Offers
Online Training from the Convenience of Your Home or Office

New Federal Requirement

Beginning May 21, 2014, all CDL medical certificates issued to interstate
commercial vehicle drivers must be issued by medical examiners listed on the
National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners (NRCME).


The Washington State Medical Association (WSMA) is a registered NRCME training provider for medical professionals seeking to be listed on the National Registry website. WSMA’s online training course is designed to meet the core curriculum requirements for medical examiners according to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA).

In addition, this training, through the use of a pre-test, post-test and case scenarios, will prepare and qualify the medical examiner to take the NRCME certification exam*. Delivered 100% online, this course is designed to meet the needs of busy medical professionals. No travel, no classroom time, no time away from work or home. You can access and participate in this training when and where you choose.

*The NRCME certification exam is administered by a separate FMCSA-approved testing organization. Once you have completed this training you can find a local testing organization here


  • Suggestions/references to pre-course reading/reference materials
  • Ability to start/stop/pause training according to your schedule
  • 6 months unlimited 24/7 access from your pc, laptop, iPhone, iPad or other mobile device
  • Printable course materials
  • Case studies/reviews and steps to prepare for the certification exam
  • Course certificate immediately upon completing the course


The training course consists of 9 modules. Each module ranges from 40 to 90 minutes.

  • Module 1: Introduction/Overview
  • Module 2: Non-Discretionary Conditions: Vision, Hearing, Diabetes & Seizures
  • Module 3: Cardiovascular/Hypertension
  • Module 4: Respiratory
  • Module 5: Musculoskeletal/Other Diseases
  • Module 6: Neurological
  • Module 7: Psychological
  • Module 8: Drug Abuse/Alcoholism/Medication Use
  • Module 9: Case Studies/Final Wrap-up

Meet the Instructors


Certification/Recertification Period:
The FMCSA certification will expire 10 years from the date of issue. After the initial training and certification, an ME must complete periodic training every 5 years to refresh his or her knowledge of the medical standards for CMV drivers and any changes to FMCSA examination standards/guidelines. MEs are required to complete recertification testing every 10 years. FMCSA may remove an ME from the National Registry if the periodic training or recertification testing is not completed.


Discounts are available for groups of 5 or more.

Group Size %Discount
5-14 10%
15-24 15%
25-50 20%
Over 50 25%


For information or to register a group, call 406.442.2585.